The Key to Shadow Box Beauty

Hello Lovely Readers,

Today, I am going to share with you a project I did a few months ago but have just now found the time to post on the blog. Procrastination is my forte, as you can tell. When we moved, I wanted to try to do a lot of my own art work/projects for the walls in my room. One project I had in mind was using shadow boxes and skeleton keys. I love the history and charm behind antique skeleton keys. It is always fun to think about the story behind the key. So, I went on a little scavenger hunt to several antique stores nearby to find keys. Luckily, I found a great collection at The Venice Pavilion in Ross, Ohio. If you love antiques, this is a sweet weekend spot to check out. I also decided to use a black and cream fabric and a collection of white buttons in my shadow boxes. I bought three shadow boxes when Hobby Lobby was having a 50% off sale. I always try to use an odd number of frames when doing wall decor because it allows you to have a balanced, feng shui, display if you will. 🙂

I first fitted the fabric to match the size of the Shadow Box frames. I then used a glue gun to adhere the arranged the keys onto the fabric base. I first tried to sew them on but that proved to be a little difficult for this girl. Glue guns have definitely saved my DIY life. I then added buttons to add some character to the pieces. I hung them above my dresser in my room. Here are a few pictures of how it turned out.

 

 

Shadow boxes are a great way to display your own creativity. Other ideas to use for shadow boxes are photo arrangements, antique forks or spoons, or anything else your heart desires. Be creative and share your own ideas with us. We’d love to hear from you!

Lovely living,

Mara

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

