Door Decor

I was recently in search of a thoughtful gift for one of my dearest friends who was celebrating both her birthday and engagement.  I went to Michael’s with the intention of whipping up some kind of homemade picture frame, but left with all the materials to create a welcome sign.  I’m really happy with how the finished product turned out, so I thought I would share with you how it all went down.

I started by choosing my color story, I found a pretty piece of scrapbook paper, that seemed reasonably guy friendly (which was a must seeing as it was a door sign that would hopefully end up on the front door of her and her fiances door), and pulled the colors, blue, green, orange, and white, from it.  The phrase, “Love Lives Here,” popped into my mind so I picked up a few wooden letters to spell it out.  I also grabbed a wooden plaque to use as my base.

I got lucky and had paint in our stash that matched the scrapbook paper perfectly.  I painted around the edge of the plaque in lime green.  It took a few coats to get the right coverage.

I cut out the scrapbook paper to fit across the top of the plaque and used Mod Podge to glue it to the wood.

While that dried, I painted the letters.  Above is “Love” which I found already spelled out.  I wanted it to be orange though, so I painted it.  I also painted the “Here” part eggshell blue and cut out “lives” from a piece of white card stock.

It took a few coats of paint but once they were dry I used super glue to adhere the words to the plaque.  I used more Mod Podge to glue down “lives”.  To give the whole piece a glossy finish, I swiped on two coats of Minwax Polyurethane.

I screwed in two nails to the back and tied on a blue ribbon to allow it to hang.  And voila, a homemade door sign.  Of course they won’t get to use it for awhile but hopefully it will be something they can hold on to and look forward to using in their future home.

Live lovely,

Rachael

 

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Door Decor

  1. Linda Wallace

    Very lovely and I like the simple powerful words!

  2. This is so cute!! What a great idea=)

    -Adriane@ fruitfulhomejournal.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

