Spark your Pinterest!

Not only do I enjoy writing on blogs, but I also love reading them!  The list of blogs I read grows everyday, but two of my favorites areYoungHouseLove and BowerPower.  Both have amazing projects and great families behind the blogs.  Recently I was perusing their posts and read about their Pinterest Challenge, I was all ears.

What is Pinterest you ask?  Well you can check it out here: Pinterest.  I had never heard of Pinterest before but now as a brand spankin’ new user, I am in love.  Its also taken up a bit too much of my time lately, so it could be a potential problem, but hopefully the newness will wear off to a manageable usage.  Essentially, Pinterest is an online cork board where you can pin your favorite pictures you find online, ranging from food to DIY.  Its a decorating lovers dream, a great way to share ideas and collect your own.

In deciding to join the Pinterest Challenge, Mara and I had to find a project we wanted to duplicate in some way.  We have had our eye on the lovely jar lighting that has been popping up everywhere.  You can find our inspiration here, over at Pinterest.  It was originally featured here.

I love the unique look this chandelier offers.  As we brainstormed a way to put our own spin on it we decided that the first issue was the fact that we didn’t have a light source to accommodate this fixture, and because we live in an apartment there was no possibility of installing one.  This led us to the idea of using candles instead which further led us to creating an outdoor chandelier for our porch.
We went to our local Meijer and picked up heavy duty twine, votive candles, and a box of canning jars.  We opted for the “crystal” textured kind, hoping it would offer an added affect.  In total we used five jars, but you could use more or less depending on the look you are going for.
To begin I unscrewed each lid and got rid of the flat part that creates a seal with the jar.  The only thing you will need is the metal ring.  From there I cut a long piece of twine, I just eyeballed for the length I wanted, and then knotted each end to opposite sides of the metal ring.

Then you screw the lid back onto the jar, to create this…
I repeated these steps five times, changing the length of the twine a little bit each time.  I wanted the jars to look like a chandelier, so as I went I held them up together to see where I felt the next jar should hang.  After the jars were completed I hung them together from one hook on our porch.   Pictures honestly don’t do it justice.
It creates a beautiful ambiance over our entire porch that we can’t get enough of!
We are pretty pleased with our little Pinterest project.  Have you guys been on Pinterest yet?  Let us know what you think of our Crystal Jar Chandelier!
Happy Lovely Living!
Rachael
2 Comments

Filed under DIY

2 responses to “Spark your Pinterest!

  1. I love the mason jars! I did my pinterest project with mason jars as well! http://www.compartmentlife.com

  2. I am so addicted to Pinterest too! Your inspiration pin is great and I think your version of it is fabulous. I hadn’t pinned the original before so am pinning yours at the original right now!

    I have posted about a few of my favourite pins on my blog today and if you have 5 Minutes to spare please pop by! Please feel free to link up your post to my new Pinning and Singing on the Weekend Linky Party. I’d love it if you could join in!

    Best wishes,
    Natasha @ 5 Minutes Just for Me

Leave a Reply

